Winners announced for Music Technology’s 1st Annual Recording Competition

Last Saturday, at the Music Technology Open House, Music and Performing Arts Professions Chair Robert Rowe presented the awards to the first annual NYU Music Technology Recording competition winners.

  • Studio Recording: Hansdale Hsu
  • Electronic Production: Aimee Norwich, Senem Pirler
  • Acoustic Recording: Eric Xu
  • Sound For Image: David Forshee, Jon Schwarz and Jose Frias.

Music Technology would like to thank Avid for its support of the project as well as the faculty and external judges for the difficult task of choosing the best of such an excellent selection of student submissions.
Alan Silverman
Allan Tucker
Tom Doczi
Amandine Pras
Tim Starnes
Brandie Lane
Dafna Naphtali
Stuart Argabrite
Joel Chadabe
Laura Sinnott

Music Tech 2012 Open House Recap

Last Saturday the Music Technology Open house filled the 6th floor conference room and James L. Dolan Recording studio with artistic and scientific research and productions.
At the end of the event, Music Technology faculty handed out several awards:

  • Outstanding Student of 2012: Alan Johnson
  • Academic Excellence: Zhengshan Shi
  • Distinguished Service to the Program: Areti Andreopoulou

There were many excellent projects presented at the Open House, but the Music Technology faculty were charged with choosing only two to highlight with Awards:

  • Best undergraduate student project: Nicholas R Chomowicz; Chom 1000, polyphonic synthesizer with conductive fingerboard pitch control
  • Best graduate student project: Senem Pirler, Einat Korman & Laura Dickens Dots: 3D Sound for a 2D Animation

Congratulations to all award recipients, and thanks to everyone who came out and supported the Music Technology program last Saturday!

Congratulations to our Award-winning Undergraduate Students This Semester!!

On May 2nd, 2012, the NYU Steinhardt Music and Performing Arts Professions Undergraduate awards were announced, and three of our students – Eric Xu, Michael Quigley, and Travis Kaufman – received awards from the department. Eric Xu received an award for Leadership and Inspiration in Music Technology. Michael Quigley received an award for Academic Excellence, and Travis Kaufman received an award for Outstanding Achievement. Congratulations to all three undergrads on behalf of the department!!